Best Rated      Best Quality       Best Value
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: -1 (from 31 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.1/5 (169 votes cast)

Kitchen Cabinets: Diamond Cabinetry Reviews

Diamond Cabinetry Website: DiamondCabinets.com

Cabinetry By Diamond (Masterbrand),

P.O. Box 420, Jasper, Indiana, 47547-0420

General Enquiries: 812-482-2527

   

diamond-cabinets-reviews

Diamond Cabinetry is one of the leading semi-custom cabinet manufacturers in the United States.

As part of the MasterBrand Cabinets family of brands, Diamond have been part of kitchen and bathroom remodeling projects and new home construction for over thirty years.

Diamond Cabinets offer a large selection of high quality kitchen cabinets (as well as bathroom cabinets and cabinets for every room in your home!). They also offer an extensive line of clever organization cabinets to help provide organization solutions throughout anyone’s home.

Diamond Cabinets – Information:

Market Position: Low – Middle
Kitchen Unit Quality: Good – Very Good
Price Fitted: varies with dealership
Supply Only: varies with dealership
Warranty: Limited Lifetime

Designer Training: varies with dealership
Designer Qualifications: varies with dealership
Designer Status: varies with dealership
Commission rate: varies with dealership

All reviews on KitchenCabinetsRated.com express the reviewer’s opinion, not necessarily ours.
Disagree with a review? Let us know by writing a review of your own or adding a comment.

Diamond Cabinets – Reviews:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.1/5 (169 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Overall Rating
Cabinet Quality
Door Quality
Hardware Quality
Choice of Styles
Price / Value
Warranty
Customer Services
Rating: 2.9/5 (20 votes cast)
Kitchen Cabinets: Diamond Cabinet Reviews, 3.1 out of 5 based on 169 ratings

Searches that found this page useful:

  • diamond cabinets reviews
  • kitchen cabinet reviews 2012
  • Diamond cabinets
  • diamond kitchen cabinets reviews
  • diamond cabinetry reviews
  • diamond kitchen cabinets review
  • diamond kitchen cabinet reviews
19 Comments
  1. Went with the Diamond Cabinets because of the reviews and price. Cabinets arrived 4 weeks ago and still awaiting on drawer units, door panels, hinges and sliding drawer mechanism. Very disappointed in the quality of these cabinets. Doors cannot open all the way without hitting adjoining cabinets, door panels were warped, even the replacement one sent. A cabinet drawer was missing the locking mechanism while other drawers were missing screws to the locking mechanisms. With the amount of quality issues experienced its hard to believe this company stays afloat. Trying to get a Diamond representative to the house, but no success yet.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Overall I’d say the materials used for these cabinets were fairly decent (only because I paid through the nose for all the upgrades) but in most other respects, they were just a hair above atrocious.

    Issues basically fell into three categories:

    1. GEOMETRY/ALIGNMENT ISSUES

    I’ve seen far better alignment and tolerances on generic stuff from IKEA. I also do plenty of my own cabinetry, and I know how closely one can measure (1/64″ isn’t hard), and I know how accurately I can drill a hole by HAND (1/32″ isn’t hard). Diamond seems to be lucky to be within 10 times that, even though they have (or sure as heck should have) a factory, with jigs and templates, and all kinds of machinery set up to make these things predictably, over and over again. There is absolutely no excuse for the kind of appalling workmanship and misalignment of parts that I found on my cabinets. Oh, Diamond, let me count the ways that I do not love you…

    First, one of the three cabinets was fully 1/4″ out of square. Are they gluing these things together on a shifting sand dune?

    Second, panels were not flush with one another. In several cases I had to sand the joint to make it even.

    Third, fully half of the brackets holding drawer rails at the back were too high, yielding canted drawer rails and therefore canted drawer fronts. This is NOT an adjustable setting. I had to unscrew everything and mount the brackets properly, which takes a ton of time. It is extremely hard to move a hole at the back of a cabinet to a location near the original hole. It’s very difficult to reach, and the drill or screw simply wants to slip back into the old hole, unless you also take the time to plug the old holes, which takes even more time.

    Fourth, drawer rails were also not mounted at equal depth. Again, this is not adjustable. The screw slots do not allow for motion on this axis, and this was plenty enough to account for some of the drawer fronts’ failure to sit flush. Again, I had to move screw holes around.

    Finally, many of the drawer fronts were also mounted at an angle and/or with no consistency of vertical offset from the top of the underlying drawer box. The false front under the sink was fully 1/4″ of an inch off center. Absolutely pathetic. I could do better with my eyes closed.

    2. FINISH/DAMAGE ISSUES

    There were many nicks and dings around the face frame. Perhaps they figured I wouldn’t care because they are hidden when the drawers are closed, but they’re perfectly visible when the drawers are open. Far worse was the massive chip out of the veneer in the corner of the decorative plywood end for which they’d had the audacity to charge me $125 (more on that later). To be fair, some of the smaller dings around the face frame might have happened during shipment when drawers shifted and smacked into the sides of the frame, but why wouldn’t they protect against this with a tiny shim of foam or cardboard? They used a truly ludicrous amount of foam and cardboard to double pack the cabinets on the whole. Could they move just 2% of that gratuitous packing material into a small shim that keeps the drawers from shifting during transport? Pretty clearly a case of just not caring.

    3. PRICING ISSUES

    These things were not cheap, and the “upgrades” were even worse. Apparently dark brown is a “premium” finish for reasons that totally escape me, and for which they added nearly 15% to the cost of the whole darn order! The “flush plywood end” cost an unconscionable $125. The ONLY thing that means is that this little piece of plywood is just 1/4″ thicker than the plywood used everywhere else. I know what the incremental cost of an extra 1/4″ of thickness is for plywood, and it sure as heck isn’t $125 for a small fraction of a full sheet. Try something closer to $5. 25x is a pretty indefensible markup. Almost as bad is the $100 they charge for a quart of stain. Really? I can buy a quart of any other stain for something like $10-15. It takes a lot of gall to charge six times more for a stain that I’m sure they acquire very cheaply in large quantity.

    SUMMARY

    If Diamond is going to charge five times what a generic cabinet costs, they better darn well have quality and tolerances that are 5x better, not 5x WORSE. In their defense, I did eventually wrangle a credit for about 10% of the order, but that took several weeks, lots of pictures and email, and it’s a pittance compared to the time and effort I spent (and still have yet to spend) fixing their shoddy work. I personally have no data on other brands of semi-custom cabinets, but I can say for sure that you should run as far and as fast as possible from Diamond until they decide to take even a passing interest in the quality of their product.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Be aware – learn from my experience:
    1) The sink base came with particle wood in the back. The manufacturer offered a refund for the premium I paid for plywood, but now I am stuck with particle wood unit that will be sensitive to moisture and may deteriorate faster.
    2) Some drawers are made of different color of wood strips inside and some look like they were treated in wood filler in a big area. The manufacturer replaced them, but the new ones are not better.
    3) Face plate of some drawers are made from different texture of the wood and have two different shades. The manufacturer replaced them but the new once are not much better.
    4) Some parts come with shipping damage and you wait a few weeks for replacement.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Regarding Diamond, there are two lines. Prelude is the value line and Reflections is higher quality. Please specify which line you purchased. I am considering Reflections, but on the fence.
    thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. My wife and I chose Diamond/MasterBrand Cabinets when remodeling our home. We decided on Diamond Reflections with Gresham Maple square doors. We read the reviews before placing our order with Lowe’s in Laconia, NH where Kathy O. a Cabinet Specialist helped pick out the exact kitchen we were looking for. We like many people have relatives and friends who are professionals – Finish Carpenters, Master Plumbers and Electricians, so the advice given us by Kathy with reference to cabinets, finishes, granite, appliances, sinks, vanities and even faucets and towel bars were of great help and our relatives and friends did a great job as we are sure Lowe’s professionals would have if contracted.
    Our cabinets arrived and were placed like our soon to be installed hardwood floors in the warmth of our home. All looked good, cabinets had no cracks, scratches or peeling paint like was written in the reviews we had read.
    One of the problems we encountered was with base and wall cabinet doors – where the doors could not be opened simultaneously without hitting one another, we write to make known to everyone reading Diamond reviews this – whether the cabinet boxes or the cabinet doors themselves were out of spec – this customer must say Lowe’s and Diamond once aware of our problem worked together with my wife and me and offered corrective measures. The NH Lowe’s store manager Kevin W. has been helpful, working with the Diamond rep. Justin W. and ordering replacement cabinet doors and molding – for replacement was necessary to ensure our kitchen was both functional and beautifully finished.
    We will write again to summarize our experience when our kitchen project is complete.
    Word of advice – Go with Diamond and go to Lowe’s in NH to purchase their product.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  6. Purchased Diamond Cabinetry through Lowes. Cabinets came out beautiful and were installed properly by my cabinet guy. After 1 month I noticed doors started separating in the upper and bottom corners. Out of 18 , 14 had to be replaced. The rep from Diamond , as well as the salesman from Lowes, came to look at them . They agreed to replace them, but said I’m responsible for the labor side. I responded by saying why should I be responsible for cabinets that obviously were defective. Never again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  7. I must say that after reading the reviews on Diamond Cabinets I was extremely worried. However, I received my shipment of Cabinets last week and I am nothing but pleased. They didn’t all come in at once, but a couple days later almost everything showed up and was in excellent condition. I was missing a couple of 3″ filler boards, but with an order of about 50 pieces I can’t complain. They look wonderful and I couldn’t be happier! By the way, for all of the snobs out in internet land, my cabinets are laminate and they look and feel like the real thing. I have the Purestyle Laminate brand and my kitchen is high dollar! We paid nearly $9500.00 thru our membership with a club we belong to and the money was well spent. Undermount sinks, granite countertops, Moen Faucets, microwave oven combo and really nice flooring. I have an entertaining/gourmet kitchen, and yes they are Diamond. Buy them you’ll be satisfied.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  8. I ordered Diamond cabinets for delivery in February 2010. We installed them and everything was fine – service, delivery, quality.
    I ordered Diamond cabinets in January 2014 (different house) for delivery in April 2014. Delivery was a nightmare. The first truck sent out was “too tall” to go under a tree in our driveway (also a late Friday afternoon before Easter wknd, which makes trees shrink sometimes), so delivery had to be rescheduled to the next week. That truck was smaller, but they sent only one guy to deliver the cabinets, some of which were Utility cabinets weighing 160+ pounds (according to the shipping slip). One guy? Really? Oh, and thankfully we had just replaced the carpets with wood floor because the boxes were COVERED in mud like they sat out in a mud lot somewhere from morning until the guy was ready to load them in his truck.
    The quality of the cabinets is way worse this time than last time I ordered them. One cabinet had a crushed corner and very poor workmanship on another corner section. Many of the cabinets had glue all over them. Two doors (so far) have scratches on them. Another cabinets had “pitting” on one side. The sales person at Lowes has been very good to work with to get replacements ordered… HOWEVER, I just unpacked the first replacement (4 week wait period). There’s no door on it, and never was. Seriously, was I supposed to remove the door from the other one that is by now already returned and then figure out the correct placement to install it (also no predrilled holes). I’m so fed up. I’ll never order Diamond cabinets again. EVER. And based on my history of moving/kitchen remodeling, I’m sure it’s a future lost sale. I haven’t even opened the moulding yet to see what I’ll find there. And I haven’t even finished opening some boxes because we haven’t started working on that part of the remodel. But I better do that. I am completely disappointed with Diamond’s rubber stamp mentality on quality.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  9. to whom it concerns I put diamond cabinetry into my kitchen last August 2013. I really liked them but I find it is hard to get them clean they look smudged in areas and I have tried everything to get the smudges off but nothing works. Anyone have any ideas

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  10. I thought I was getting a good grade cabinet, but it is only my husband and I, and even cabinets that get very little use look as if they need refinishing. The finish is pealing and they look terrible. I love my kitchen but my cabinets are awful. Is there any thing I can do with them?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  11. Wish I had of read this before I order my cabinets.
    Believe me if they come messed up by any means, they won’t even leave the store (Lowes).
    I WILL inspect them very carefully.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. purchased kitchen cabinets and had installed by lowes. Horrible experience. Cabinets started to peel not even one year after installation. Diamond rep and lowes rep made me feel as I was exaggerating and making a big deal of nothing. The diamond rep said that will happen because cabinets are near water all the time. I am SOOOOO sorry I used them. They sent me some pieces to replace the damaged cabinets, however, we need to install them AND there are pieces they WONT send because diamond rep said I didn’t tell him when he came to my house. Not to mention diamond rep and lowes rep came to my house unexpectedly, I had to run out therefore, didn’t get a chance to give him all the items that needed to be replaced. There were about 14 pieces. Diamond rep would only replace the pieces I told him about while he was at my home. I am so disgusted with them. I would NEVER recommend them. So angry I spend about 16k in March of 2010 and my kitchen cabinets are peeling and look terrible!!!! I told diamond rep, my cabinets in my bathroom have vapor,steam water ALL the time have had them for years, paint not peeling…he had no response for that. Diamond cabinets ARE the worst !!!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  13. We purchased Diamond Prelude cabinets at Lowes, took longer than expected due to poor organization between somewhere in the process, but they arrived, and damage was plentiful. Warped door, scratched shelving, sticky stuff on several, peeling Thermafoil, broken corner with particle board falling out, plenty of issues. Called Lowes, after the inspector/installer failed to mention any of this stuff which I discovered on closer inspection on my own, and three people came to “observe the damage” including the rep from Diamond. I think the cabinets look very cheap, and for 12 cabinets at over 3000.00 bucks I wanted them returned. I was convinced to keep them, and some cabinets are going to be resurfaced, imagine that for a new cabinet already needing resurfacing, some will be replaced, others, door replacement and shelf replacement. I am already weary, but I trust the Diamond rep will make it good, and if not, there is always Lowe’s to complain to. I would not buy them again. I wanted to send them back and go with Shenandoah, but Lowes designer said that would be a bigger mistake, and that their cabinets are even less perfect. Boy, am I making a mistake here?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    • your experience does not surprise me

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  14. I ordered $16,000.00 worth of Diamond cabinets. Several had glue on them that I was able to clean off. They lost one cabinet through their shipper and Lowe’s salesman found it two months later on the trucking company shipping dock, Diamond never attempted to locate it.The cabinets are of good made quality but the inspection before shipping is terrible. I returned one damaged cabinet and took 6 weeks to get another one after numerous letters of complaint to Diamond and Lowe’s. The customer service is terrible!!! Diamond likes to sell you the cabinets and then forget you as a customer! Lowe’s needs to drop them from their sales. they just shut down a plant in Martinsville, Virginia and this has slowed them down on filling orders, especially replacements. Diamond could do better with customer service!!!!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  15. Do not purchase from Diamond. Very poor quality and very expensive. Customer support from Diamond is horrible. There are too many other quality cabinet manufacturers out there. Poor finish quality, stripped screws, pieces arrived dented. Diamond customer service is a joke. Once they sell you the product they don’t have any interest in helping the customer resolve issues that quite frankly should never have been there to begin with….say no to Diamond and do yourself a favor.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  16. We order Diamond cabinets from Lowe’s and had absolutely no problem. We ordered a total of 15 cabinets which arrived perfectly within a month of ordering them, along with all the misc. trim and crown pieces. They were evenly finished and exactly what we saw on the display at Lowe’s. We order the shaker style deep chocolate cabinets and they are beautiful. We will say that we were skeptical on ordering cabinets because of our deadline and if we were to have some issue arrise it would have put a wrench in our plans. Nope, went better than expected and they were exactly what we were looking for.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
    • you were very lucky and I wish I had same experience as you did.

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  17. I got diamond cabinets at Lowes. Very poor stain quality. Damaged doors. Replacement doors also damaged with poor stain. Stripped screws. They sent me stain to touch them up.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Leave a Reply